Make Up

Worth The Splurge? Huda Beauty Rose Gold Palette

£56 for an eyeshadow palette!? I couldn’t quite believe it when I heard but after lusting over this palette on Instagram for months, I couldn’t resist. I had heard some mixed reviews on the palette as it launched on the Huda Beauty website weeks before Cult Beauty and I was excited to finally test it out for myself! I hope this review helps for those sitting on the fence with this palette so you can see if it’s really worth spending so much money on.

The details


The palette is named “The Textured Shadows Palette – Rose Gold Edition” and includes 18 shadows.  This is more shadows than the majority of the palettes I own which helps justify the price a little. However, Morphe palettes include 35 shadows for more than half the price! On the other hand, Huda’s palette contains 6 unique 3D metal shades which are like nothing I have ever tried before and 2 beautiful pearl shadows. These shadows make the palette very different to most on the market and the shadows are so well done that I feel it deserves the shocking price tag…maybe. This leaves 10 ordinary matte shadows which is key for any palette in my opinion! I feel the colour range is incredible as it contains all my favourites – rose gold, copper and cranberry! It’s also versatile as it includes everything for a neutral eye (brown and golds) along with some pops of colour to play with (pinks and reds) with a matte black which is always handy!

Packaging



Now to talk about something which may not make a difference to your decision, but I always like to address it. The shadows come in a clear magnetic palette ensuring the shadows are kept safe and so it will not easily fling itself open. The clear packaging is useful as you can see all the shades without having to open the palette up, although I do find this packaging quite boring and ugly. However, this does then slides out of a further packaging which I really love. It’s very similar to the packaging of Huda’s lashes with the eyes on the front in black and white. the eyes on the palette packaging have rose gold on the lids which is really pretty and clearly reflects the palette itself. Although, having this extra packaging could be annoying and could get lost.

Quality and Pigmentation


Finally to talk about what really matters – the quality of these shadows! The colour pay off varies a lot in this palette so I will talk about the shadows seperately.

Textured and pearl shadows – the textured shadows felt very strange when swatching them, but not in a bad way at all! They were very creamy and didn’t really fell like eyeshadows, I think the best way to explain them would be to compare   them to the Makeup Geek foiled shadows as they are very similar! Huda’s shadows are definitely more chunky than the Makeup Geek ones though. The pigmentation to both the textured and pearl shadows are insane! The only negative with the textured shadows are that you have to apply a little at a time as taking too much can make it crumbly (which you’ll see from my swatches further down) and these are best applied using your finger.

Matte shadows – unfortunately, the matte shadows I was not so impressed by. These are the softest matte shadows I have ever felt and some shades were highly pigmented but others were honestly terrible. The shades which stand out for the poor pigmentation on the top of my head are “Flamingo” and “Black Truffle”. I was very disappointed to find how chalky these shadows were especially for such a pricey palette! Nevertheless, these shades are made up for by the textured shadows and the mattes that actually are great, also the shades do all apply better on the eyes than when swatched and that’s what really matters!

Swatches 

I have swatched all 3 rows of the palette and used flash so you can get the best idea of the shades.


Row 1 (from left to right) – Dubai, Fling, 24K, Rose Gold, Trust Fund, Angelic.


Row 2 (from left to right) – #Blessed, Bossy(took 2 swatches), Flamingo(2 swatches), Shy, Bae(2 swatches), Moon Dust.


Row 3 (from left to right) – Black Truffle (2 swatches), Suede(2 swatches), Coco, Maneater, Henna, Sandalwood(2 swatches).

So, to answer the question, was it worth the splurge? Unfortunatley I’m going to have to say no BUT it WAS worth the hype. By this is mean, the palette was not perfect and some shades were worse than a drugstore palette so it can not be worth the £56! For a £56 palette I was expecting it to be flawless and to be honest I’m not sure if any palette can be worth that amount of money! However, whether it was worth the hype is a different question.  Being one of the most beautiful palettes I have ever seen with such unique shadows I can totally understand why there was so much hype around this! despite it not being £56 I do not regret buying it as I know I will still get my use out of it. It’s very gorgeous and if you are a collector or just completely obsessed with makeup like me, I would buy the palette anyway. But otherwise, I’d save your money.


I hoped that helped! I will be blogging a look using this palette soon so stay tuned! Thank you so much for reading.

Xoxo Mollie

5 thoughts on “Worth The Splurge? Huda Beauty Rose Gold Palette

Leave a Reply

