Make Up

Modern Renaissance VS Huda Beauty VS Holy Grail

2016 has been the year of red toned shadows and this trend has definitely made its way into 2017 as well. Many brands have been coming out with these gorgeous eye shadow palettes which include warm toned reds, oranges and golds and today I will be comparing three of the most popular on the market. I love all three of these palettes but I will be briefly talking about each one and hopefully help you decide on which one is the best for you if you are indecisive between them. I would like to mention though that this mainly comes down to personal preference as these are all very good quality. All of these palettes are permanent, however are extremely popular so sell out all of the time! I hope you don’t mind that I haven’t done any swatches in this post, I completely forgot!

Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette – £41 ( Cult Beauty, Beauty Bay, ABH UK website)

Beginning with probably the most hyped of them all and my most recent purchase – Modern Renaissance. This sells out a lot but is restocked really regularly so is probably the easiest of the three to get hold of. I have had the best of luck with this palette, from it being first launched to every single restock , I have been able to get my hands on it but didn’t until last week. I told myself this would be a miss, I thought it was pretty but nothing special and therefore told myself that I didn’t need it.  As always, I gave in after seeing so many pictures of it on Instagram and I wanted to try it out myself and I am SO GLAD I did!

This retails for £41 which I suppose is your standard high end price for an eyeshadow palette. The palette has 14 shades which is less than the other two palettes and also has a smaller pan size. This palette also only contains 3 shimmer shades which could be a downside if you prefer them to mattes. I personally feel that this palette out of them all has the best formula by far! Definitely the most pigmented and the shadows are so buttery and easy to blend, my eyeshadow looks so flawless every time I use this palette. The palette comes with a really good brush too! If you are looking for the palette with the best formula, or one with loads of mattes then this is definitely the best one for you. I wouldn’t recommend this for beginners as the colour scheme is very unique and I definitely wouldn’t know what to do with this if it was my first ever eyeshadow palette.

Huda Beauty Textured Shadows Palette Rose Gold Edition – £56 (Cult Beauty, Harrods) 

Unlike Modern Renaissance, this is one I knew I wanted from the second I saw it! Despite the ridiculous price tag and mixed reviews, I was not put off and I am very happy with this palette. This palette hasn’t yet been restocked since launch I don’t think but I’m pretty certain Cult Beauty and due to restock very soon!

This palette contains 18 shades and also slightly bigger pan sizes than the Modern Renaissance palette. I wouldn’t say this justifies the price though, especially as the shadows are not close to the quality of ABH. This palette includes 10 mattes, 2 shimmers and 6 unique textured shadows which have a foiled finish. This gives you a lot more choice and the textured shadows make this palette the most unique of the three and therefore the most expensive. The shimmers are great quality and the textured shadows are also good when being used correctly. These textured shadows should be used with your fingers for the best pigmentation. I do think the mattes could be a lot better for the price but I can work with them so I do not see this as a massive problem. Again, I do not see this as a beginners palette as the matte shades are going to take a lot of blending and the textured shadows can be difficult to work with. I definitely see this as a collectors palette or for anyone who is particularly interested in the foiled shadows

You can read my full review on this palette here!

Violet Voss Holy Grail Palette – £34 (Beauty Bay) £42 ( Glam Saidey)

The Violet Voss Holy Grail palette lives up to its name and certainly was a holy grail palette for me for a while! I have been using a lot of different palettes recently but I do still really love this! The palette is very rarely restocked on Beauty Bay but is often on Glam Saidey, however charges slightly more. If you can get your hands on this I really would!

This palette contains the most product of all three with 20 shadows and a good size pan for each shadow. It also has a nice balance of mattes and shimmers so it’s very versatile. I’d say the quality of this palette is definitely better than Huda’s but not as good as ABH. These shadows are very pigmented and blend nicely. Out of all the palettes I think this one is the best for beginners as it contains a lot of brown shades that are perfect for everyday wear and as earlier mentioned – a good range of matte and shimmer shadows. This palette is very easy to create many looks with!

Overall, my personal ranking would be Huda Beauty, Modern Renaissance and then Holy Grail. This is based on my own personal preference though and it was hard as these three are all so amazing and all holy grails of mine! I just really fell in love with the textured shadows from Huda Beauty’s palette and I have no other palette like it! I also found the Holy Grail palette to be the least unique. 

Here’s my final summary of the palettes:

Modern RenaissanceBEST quality, unique shades, mainly matte, least amount of shadows.

Huda Beautyworst quality (but not bad),textured shadows like no other palette, unique shades.

Holy Grailmost amount of shadows, great balance of matte and shimmers, good quality.

I hope that this has helped those who are interested in these palettes and are deciding on which one to try out! I’m pretty sure you won’t be disappointed in any of these. Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed! 

Xoxo Mollie

16 thoughts on “Modern Renaissance VS Huda Beauty VS Holy Grail

Leave a Reply

