Make Up

Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Palette Review & Comparison With Modern Renaissance

Today’s blog post is on the most controversial palette on the market today – the Subculture Palette by Anastasia Beverly Hills. Subculture is the second permanent eyeshadow palette by ABH and is described as the sister palette to Modern Renaissance, Modern Renaissance is day whereas Subculture is Night. Many popular Youtubers such as Alissa Ashley and Jeffree Star have raised their concerns about the palette, saying the shadows are difficult to blend and that there’s excessive fall out. Alissa had even hit pan after one use! However, a few have said that the palette is good and I was so in love with the colours that I thought I’d try it out myself and hope to be one of the few who love the palette. Rumours have gone around that there’s a good batch which would be the one saying “P7” at the back of the box, I do happen to have a P7 but who knows if they are all the same or not! If you’re interested in my opinion then keep on reading. 

Price and Packaging 

The Palette retails for £42 on the Anastasia Beverly Hills Website and £41 on Cult Beauty and Beauty Bay. I’m sure that this palette is also sold in Sephora and Ulta. I think the price is reasonable as it’s the same as the Modern Renaissance and you’re getting the same amount of product. The palette contains 14 different shades so £41/£42 is a standard price for a high end palette containing that amount of shadows.

The packaging is also very similar to the Modern Renaissance which appears to be popular with others as well as myself. I love the velvet packaging and the beautiful colours. The colours for Subculture are dark blue and yellow which differs to the pink and white on Modern Renaissance. I love how Subculture is a darker and grungier version of Modern Renaissance. The palette includes a mirror which is handy for travelling and also a double ended brush. I never usually use the brushes that come with the palette but the ABH ones are actually really good and I always find myself using the one that came with Modern Renaissance!

The Colours 


When I first saw this palette on Instagram I was unsure if I was going to buy it as I’m pretty boring with makeup and tend to stick to my neutrals. However, as I looked at it more I thought of some great colour combinations which got me excited about the palette and I soon fell in love. This palette is far from boring and includes both warm and cool tones such as beautiful blues, greens and oranges. The colours are so unique and it has helped me be more creative with makeup which I love! Many have compared it to Jeffree Star’s Palette but since I don’t own that palette I knew that it would be a useful one to add to my collection as I have nothing else that’s like it. Because this palette is more of a colourful one, I wouldn’t recommend it to beginners as it’s a little harder to create looks but not impossible as it does include a few neutrals. The only thing I don’t like about the colour scheme is that there is no white or cream matte shade which I like to use as a base shade to set my primer or concealer. Instead I have to use my setting powder or a shade from another palette. They also only have one shade that works as a transition for me.

Metallic Shades

Adorn – bronze

Duo Chrome Shades

Cube – pink pearl

Electric – lime gold 

Ultra Matte Shades 

Roxy – muted coral

Fudge – warm bronze

New Wave – citron orange

Untamed – tarnished green

Edge – gold mustard 

Rowdy – blackened purple 

Axis – blue green 

Mercury – slate grey 

All Star – vintage wine 

Destiny – sage green

Dawn – sand 

Fall Out


You are all probably aware of the fall out issue in this palette. Yes, the fall out is a lot more than any other palette I own and a little more than the Modern Renaissance. I remember first trying out the MR palette and I was a little shocked by the fall out but I had no problems with that as it was only because they were softly packed and extremely pigmented. It’s exactly the same with Subculture, only a little more. The shadows in Subculture are even more pigmented than Modern Renaissance and I believe that’s why there’s a little more fall out. However, the metallic and duo chrome shades have no fall out at all which is usually the case in all palettes.

When it comes to applying the shadows on the eyes, no fall out is left on your face so the fall out issue is only in the pans and I really don’t see this as much of a problem. If you tap lightly (believe me that’s all you need) you should be fine. If you heavily swirl your brush around then of course there’s going to be a load of kick back! Although everyone is entitled to their own opinion and it could be that some are more heavy handed than others or that the P7 batch actually is better than the others!

The photos above shows the fall out I got from one light tap on each shade, although I had used the palette a couple of times before doing this! The photos below show the same but with the Modern Renaissance palette. I have used this palette loads of times so it’s very beaten up and therefore it might be a little difficult to see.


Blending and Pigmentation

Another complaint with this palette was that the shades didn’t blend, particularly the darker shades. Some were saying it was because the shades were just too pigmented and others were saying they stuck to the concealer/ primer even though it had been set with a powder. When I first used this palette I had one eye with no primer or concealer at all and the other eye primed with Tarte Shape Tape concealer. I set both eyes with my Rimmel Stay Matte powder. I did actually find that they blended better on the eye that I didn’t prime at all! I may not have left my concealer to dry properly though and neither of my eyes were much of an issue.

All of the matte shades are unbelievably pigmented. I believe the blending varies among shades so I will talk about each shade individually.

Cube – I found this shade to not be as pigmented as I was expecting. I do think this is more of a highlighter shade though and therefore I’d tend to only use it in the inner corners.

Roxy – this shade blended like a dream.

Dawn – again, one of the easiest shades to blend.

Electric – like the other duo chrome shade, not as pigmented as I would have thought. This definitely needs spraying with a setting spray or water for full pigment but I find it applies best using my finger.

Destiny – as this shade is darker it needs a little more work when blending. I wouldn’t say it’s too hard to blend, it just needs more time.

Fudge – this one surprising blended very well. I wasn’t expecting this as it is a darker shade and I believe others have had some problems with this shade.

Adorn – unlike the duo chrome shades, this metallic shade was very pigmented. It reminded me of the Makeup Geek foiled shadows. This shade does not need to be wet for full pigmentation but I do prefer to use my finger with this shade.

New Wave – very easy to blend.

All Star – Like Destiny, it’s not impossible to work with but you need to spend a bit more time for it to blend well.

Untamed – I found this one of the more difficult shades to work with. Perhaps it’s so pigmented that it’s very hard to blend out.

Mercury – this was another shade I really disliked. For some reason this was very hard to blend and I found it patchy too.

Edge – I had no issues when using this shade.

Axis – another shade I wish was slightly less pigmented because it was hard to blend out. I found this shade over powered the eye look and became a bit of a mess.

Rowdy – not the worst shade but not the best. It should work if you spend longer on blending.

Swatches

Top Row

With and without flash, from left to right Cube, Dawn, Destiny, Adorn, All Star, Mercury, Axis

Bottom Row 

With and without flash, from left to right – Roxy, Electric, Fudge, New Wave, Untamed, Edge, Rowdy

Overall Opinion

Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Palette, the worst palette in the world? Wrong. It’s not my favourite palette and I do prefer Modern Renaissance but I don’t hate it. The colours are very unique and therefore stand out in my collection. The fall out may come to a shock to some but it’s nothing I personally care about much. Most shades I love and blend easily. If you are a makeup collector or if you’re looking for a fun palette which is something completely different then I would recommend it! If you’re a beginner, not so much as there is some colourful shades and some shades take some time to blend out. I don’t see this as much of an everyday palette so I won’t be using it massively but I do not regret buying it at all. Of course, these are just my opinions and it’s okay to think different. I’m also curious if I did just get a “good” palette. If you have this palette then let me know what you think of it!

Thank you so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed this post and I hope it helped those who were unsure on this palette.

Xoxo Mollie

10 thoughts on “Anastasia Beverly Hills Subculture Palette Review & Comparison With Modern Renaissance

Leave a Reply

